Tags

, , , , , ,

I suppose I should explain why I named this blog “Casella’s Song”. Honestly, I just like the way it sounds. Casella is Dante’s friend who shows up at the beginning of Purgatory, the second book in The Divine Comedy. He’s a musician, hence the “song” part of the title. That’s really as far as my thought process went.

But there’s also a reason that Dante has been on my mind these days (I’d like to say it’s because I’m some super intelligent person that’s always contemplating poetry in my down time, but I’d be lying). Basically, I need to start a big painting and/or drawing and/or photography project for a show I have coming up, and I have no idea what to do. Also, I used to know Italian really well, but after months of not using it at all I’m starting to forget it completely. So, my brilliant solution: (re)read The Divine Comedy so that I can use it as inspiration for an art project and hopefully hang onto whatever foreign language skills I still have. Two birds, one stone. Perfect, right? Well I’m an expert procrastinator so we’ll see how long it actually takes me to follow through on this plan. I’m hoping that just writing it down here might hold me somewhat accountable.


Although… I just realized that I’m using a story set in Hell as a jumping-off point for a project that’s bound to be pretty difficult and time-consuming. Let’s hope that’s not too symbolic…

L

