Tags

, , ,

I swear I haven’t forgotten about this blog. I’ve just been.. busy? No, that’s not true. I guess when I sit down in front of the computer I’m used to either doing work or doing something completely mindless like checking facebook (or doing both at the same time, let’s be honest.) So I’m just not in the habit of blog-writing, which isn’t work but does actually require some thought.

But today I’m stuck at home and it occurred to me to write a post. The reason I can’t go out is this: every few hours I must chew on some wax, spit in a tube, and put the tube in the freezer. Exciting, yes?

Ok so maybe I don’t have to stay in the house all day, but I know that if I leave I’ll completely forget to go home in time to freeze the thing. So here I am. What’s the point of this, you may ask? My doctor wants to test my neurotransmitters because I don’t sleep through the night. I’ve always had trouble falling asleep so I take melatonin, but I also wake up after 3 or 4 hours, and a lot of the time I am UP at that point and have to find an activity to do from 4-7AM until I can doze off again til 8:30ish.

I’ve been seeing a new doctor and she’s the only person I’ve gone to that actually wants to address this problem. She tried to give me this test the first time I saw her, but I brushed it off thinking, “well, according to my parents I’ve been a bad sleeper since I was a baby, so I’m not really concerned about it after this many decades. Plus everyone has trouble sleeping, it’s totally normal.” But every time I went back she kept asking if my sleep/fatigue was any better and was pretty insistent about the neurotransmitter test. Sooo I’m giving it a shot. Maybe there is something chemically “wrong.” Or maybe I just need to exercise more or eat pumpkin seeds or drink cherry juice or whatever else they tell you to do for sleep. We’ll see.

Alright, gotta go spit again.

-L

