Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Sometimes I feel like I’m in the minority here, but I really don’t like New York City. At all. And it’s unfortunate because objectively there are so many wonderful things about it. I have friends and family there, and since I’m into the arts it’d be a pretty ideal place to be to have access to great museums and galleries and shows. I can’t pinpoint exactly what it is that I dislike so much, but as soon as I’m anywhere near the city I get this overwhelming “get me the hell out of here as fast as possible” feeling.

I went back again last weekend and, once again, couldn’t wait to leave. But for the sake of not being completely negative all the time I’ll just focus on the positives this time around. First, I went to a taping of Jimmy Fallon, which was really fun. Then we went out to dinner. Ok I’m going to have to be negative again for a second just to state that this (overpriced) dinner made me really sick.

Fast forward to the next day and I got up early and got all ready to meet my sister, only to find out that she was “too tired” and wanted to meet later. So I sat around for hours. It’s fine. Not going to complain…

Oh, but then I saw an Oscar in Grand Central!

Image

After that it was my turn to choose what to do, so we went to The Met! My sister, who has been living in NY for a few years, had apparently never been there (?!), plus it was raining so everyone was down for spending the day indoors. I kind of wanted to look around for “inspiration.” I need a background for a painting I’ve been working on and I still don’t know what I want it to look like. I didn’t end up finding what I was looking for, but as per usual I stopped in front of a Botticelli painting to do a sketch (I find myself doing this more often than you’d think.) The special exhibit on Renaissance portraits was right up my alley.. because I’m boring and I love that stuff..

ImageI also liked the exhibit on Fu Baoshi, and I got to see the new American Wing, even though it was the end of the day and I kind of rushed through it. When we left it was pourrring, so we took a cab back across town and I met up with a friend for sushi. I loved getting to see her and the only downside was that I didn’t get to spend more time with her because I had tickets to see Godspell that night. The show was great (although honestly I was so tired by then that I don’t really remember it all that well, but Hunter Parrish came up and high-fived our row and I had some mardi gras beads thrown at me at one point, so I was generally entertained.)

The next day was window shopping, eating, and driving home. I had planned on meeting up with another friend before I left, but she was running late and I was pretty much useless due to lack of sleep, so we postponed.

Image

Clearly this wasn’t a bad experience, but I was still glad to go home. Part of that was just getting back to my own bed since I was still feeling sick. But I don’t think that was the only reason. Despite all the positives I can’t get past that restless feeling that the city gives me. NY truly isn’t the place for me, at least not right now… or any time soon.

L

