Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

I tend not to give too much thought to red carpet fashion, and to be honest the show Fashion Police on E! makes me want to throw up in my mouth a little bit, but something about the dresses Emmys last Sunday really caught my attention. Maybe it was all the obscenely bright colors. Whatever it was, I found myself looking at photos after the fact and picking out favorites, so I’ll post them here.

#1. Tina Fey (Vivienne Westwood)

I don’t love the hairstyle on its own, but altogether I thought this was gorgeous.

#2. Kat Dennings (J. Mendel)

To me this one was much less about the dress and more about the makeup. I loved loved loved her makeup.

#3. January Jones (Zac Posen)

For reasons I can’t even explain, January Jones bugs me. A lot. But I love how dramatic this dress is, especially on the model.

#4: Padma Lakshmi (Monique Lhuillier)

Ginnifer Goodwin and Julie Bowen also wore bright colored Monique Lhuillier dresses, but of those three this is the only one I would describe as “stunning.”

Also: Rico Rodriguez

He’s adorable and you know it.

 

Things I didn’t like:

#1. Lena Dunham (Prada)

Her makeup is good, and then the rest of her looks like one of my mother’s couch cushions.

#2. Sofia Vergara (Zuhair Murad)

This is a pageant gown. I very rarely see a pageant gown that I like.

#3. Zooey Deschanel (Reem Acra)

I have no idea why but I just don’t like it. I can’t say much more than that.

